Statistical Insight Featured Spotlight: Statistics in the News

This is the first post in a three-part series spotlighting Statistical Insight database features. For this post, we’re looking at the “Statistics in the News” tab, available on a supplemental right-hand menu bar (shown below).

statistical insight2This section of Statistical Insight comprises of fifteen topics ranging from bullying to renewable energy. Selecting a topic will yield several dozen, or in the case of “Medicare Spending” (shown below), several hundred PDFs and tables of compiled statistics.

statistical insight3Using the blue and gray result bar tabs, results can be filtered by table or PDF.  (note: Additional filter options will be explored in a later spotlight post.) Generally, publications located in Statistical Insight are voluminous, containing several hundred pages (table example by the National Center for Health Statistics shown below).

statistical insight4As with the aforementioned example, Statistical Insight provides professionals and students alike with access to information that would be often difficult to amass.

Access to ProQuest’s Statistical Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Statistical Insight: What is it?

ProQuest’s Statistical Insight (see below) is a resource hub for full text publications of public domain and licensed statistical sources.

statistical insight

Statistical Insight houses over 5,000 federal statistical publications, dating back to 1973–in addition to several thousand international and state government statistical reports.

Topics from abortion to the trade deficit are tracked by Statistical Insight’s “Statistics in the News” section (shown below and highlighted in an upcoming post).

statistical insight2

The basic search in Statistical Insight works similarly as it does in ProQuest’s Regulatory Insight and Legislative Insight. Filters can be applied to narrow in keyword searches.

Access to ProQuest’s Statistical Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Bar Exam-Relevant Electronic Databases: Corporate Law Resource Center

This is the final post in a four-part series spotlighting bar exam-relevant databases.

Bloomberg BNA Corporate Law Resource Center is a comprehensive database, providing everything from corporate law news to case summaries to practice tools for attorneys.

Corporate Law Resource Center 1The Resource Center houses four separate reports: Corporate Law & Accountability Report, Corporate Counsel Weekly, Mergers & Acquisitions Report, and Social Media Law & Policy Report (shown with summaries below).

Corporate Law Resource Center 2The Corporate Law & Accountability Report and the Corporate Counsel Weekly publish news articles daily (shown below). Unlike the news articles published in the Family Law Reporter, articles in either Corporate reports are not as easily searchable by topic.

Corporate Law Resource Center 3Perhaps the most beneficial avenue in terms of news and information compilation, is found in BNA Insights, located on the left column on the Corporate Law Resource Center home page (shown below).

Corporate Law Resource Center 4

Access to Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Resource Center is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website, under the Electronic Resources tab.

Bar Exam-Relevant Electronic Databases: Family Law Reporter

This is the third post in a four-part series spotlighting bar exam-relevant databases.

The Bloomberg BNA Family Law Reporter is published once a week, each Tuesday. The front page of the Family Law Reporter contains all the headlines from the weekly edition and a complete topical index below, where readers can single out articles concerning specific topics, from Adoption to Wills & Estates.

Family Law Reporter1Using the left side menu, readers can further search through recent topics, law firms mentioned in articles, and by court. All the links take the reader to a separate landing page, where subjects are alphabetized (shown below).

Family Law Reporter2Alternatively, readers exclusively seeking information concerning recently reported cases can do so through clicking the “Finding Tools” link, located on the blue menu bar, and selecting “View Recent Cases Reported”. Each case is provided with a short, one to two sentence summary (shown below).

Family Law Reporter 4Access to Bloomberg BNA’s Family Law Reporter is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website, under the Electronic Resources tab.

Bar Exam-Relevant Electronic Databases: What are they?

This is the first post in a four-part series spotlighting bar exam-relevant databases. Each database will be explored in detail.

For recent law school graduates looking to keep abreast of bar exam-relevant material in a palatable format outside bar prep study hours, the following electronic resources may offer reprieve. Each of these databases cover a subject often tested on the Texas Bar Examination.

E&E Publishing (Oil and Gas Law)

E&E Front Page

Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy.

Bloomberg BNA Family Law Reporter (Family Law)

FLR

Published weekly, Bloomberg BNA Family Law Reporter covers important new federal and state family law cases, legislation, and issues.

Bloomberg BNA Corporate Law Resource Center (Business Association & Uniform Commercial Code)

Corp Law

Bloomberg BNA Corporate Law Resource Center covers the broad spectrum of business law and features concise coverage of areas of critical interest to corporate practitioners.

Access to all the databases referenced in this post is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website, under the Electronic Resources tab.

 

 

Legislative Insight Featured Spotlight: Legislative Process

This is the second post in a three-part series spotlighting Legislative Insight database features. For this post, we’re looking at the “Legislative Process” tab, available off the menu bar (shown below).

Leg Proc 3.1The legislative process is broken down into seven steps:

  1. A bill is drafted and introduced (either through the House or Senate)
  2. A bill is referred to a committee and subject to hearings and markup
  3. A committee votes to report a bill
  4. A bill goes to the floor
  5. The bill goes to conference
  6. The bill goes to the president to sign or veto
  7. The enacted law is printed and codified

Each step is explained in detail by clicking the orange information tab (shown below). In the example below, the Legislative Process page breaks down the intricacies of when a bill is referred to a committee.

Leg Proc 3.3 The Legislative Process page on Legislative Insight demystifies the law making process by providing a step-by-step guide in simplified language.

Access to ProQuest’s Legislative Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Legislative Insight Featured Spotlight: Quick Search & Search by Number

This is the final post in a three-part series spotlighting Legislative Insight database features.

Aside from the basic search bar available on the home page and the Guided Search tab (which is an extension of the basic search bar), there are two other ways to conduct a search: (1) Quick Search and (2) Search by Number.

Quick Search

Leg Insight 4.1Quick Search is fairly intuitive. You can either type in what law you’re searching, or utilize the “Popular Names of Laws List,” located directly under the search bar (shown above). In the example below, we selected the “Abandoned Shipwreck Act of 1987” and narrowed our search to only Hearings, under Publication Types.

Leg Insight 4.2After results populate, the left menu bar prompts the user to narrow the results even more–by subject term, start and end date, and source.

Search By Number

The Search by Number form is the quickest way to search for legislative information when you already have the–as the name implies–numbers associated with the piece of legislation. Users can search by bill number, public law number, public resolution number, statutes at large, publication number, bibliographic number, and serial set volume number (shown below).

Leg Insight 4.3

 

Access to ProQuest’s Legislative Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.