Bar Exam-Relevant Electronic Databases: What are they?

This is the first post in a four-part series spotlighting bar exam-relevant databases. Each database will be explored in detail.

For recent law school graduates looking to keep abreast of bar exam-relevant material in a palatable format outside bar prep study hours, the following electronic resources may offer reprieve. Each of these databases cover a subject often tested on the Texas Bar Examination.

E&E Publishing (Oil and Gas Law)

E&E Front Page

Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy.

Bloomberg BNA Family Law Reporter (Family Law)

FLR

Published weekly, Bloomberg BNA Family Law Reporter covers important new federal and state family law cases, legislation, and issues.

Bloomberg BNA Corporate Law Resource Center (Business Association & Uniform Commercial Code)

Corp Law

Bloomberg BNA Corporate Law Resource Center covers the broad spectrum of business law and features concise coverage of areas of critical interest to corporate practitioners.

Access to all the databases referenced in this post is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website, under the Electronic Resources tab.

 

 

Legislative Insight Featured Spotlight: Legislative Process

This is the second post in a three-part series spotlighting Legislative Insight database features. For this post, we’re looking at the “Legislative Process” tab, available off the menu bar (shown below).

Leg Proc 3.1The legislative process is broken down into seven steps:

  1. A bill is drafted and introduced (either through the House or Senate)
  2. A bill is referred to a committee and subject to hearings and markup
  3. A committee votes to report a bill
  4. A bill goes to the floor
  5. The bill goes to conference
  6. The bill goes to the president to sign or veto
  7. The enacted law is printed and codified

Each step is explained in detail by clicking the orange information tab (shown below). In the example below, the Legislative Process page breaks down the intricacies of when a bill is referred to a committee.

Leg Proc 3.3 The Legislative Process page on Legislative Insight demystifies the law making process by providing a step-by-step guide in simplified language.

Access to ProQuest’s Legislative Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Legislative Insight Featured Spotlight: Quick Search & Search by Number

This is the final post in a three-part series spotlighting Legislative Insight database features.

Aside from the basic search bar available on the home page and the Guided Search tab (which is an extension of the basic search bar), there are two other ways to conduct a search: (1) Quick Search and (2) Search by Number.

Quick Search

Leg Insight 4.1Quick Search is fairly intuitive. You can either type in what law you’re searching, or utilize the “Popular Names of Laws List,” located directly under the search bar (shown above). In the example below, we selected the “Abandoned Shipwreck Act of 1987” and narrowed our search to only Hearings, under Publication Types.

Leg Insight 4.2After results populate, the left menu bar prompts the user to narrow the results even more–by subject term, start and end date, and source.

Search By Number

The Search by Number form is the quickest way to search for legislative information when you already have the–as the name implies–numbers associated with the piece of legislation. Users can search by bill number, public law number, public resolution number, statutes at large, publication number, bibliographic number, and serial set volume number (shown below).

Leg Insight 4.3

 

Access to ProQuest’s Legislative Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

 

Death Penalty Worldwide

DPW1

The database was created in April 2011 by Professor Sandra Babcock, Clinical Professor of Law and Director of the International Human Rights Clinic at Cornell University Law School, in partnership with the World Coalition Against the Death Penalty, this resource attempts to fill the research and advocacy gaps that exist with regards to the death penalty.  Its intended audience includes judges, policymakers, scholars, lawyers, journalists, and human rights advocates.

DPW2

According to the website’s FAQ (http://www.deathpenaltyworldwide.org/faq.cfm), the database provides data such as:

  • General country information
  • Basic death penalty information
  • List of crimes punishable by the death penalty
  • Information about death penalty conditions, such as prison conditions, quality of legal representation, etc.
  • Information from international human rights organizations

DPW will NOT include certain information:

  • Descriptions of individual cases
  • A news feed on death penalty topics

 

DPW3

You can also find links to other international legal issues in this resource.  Some of these include information on extraditions to retentionist countries, how mental illness is dealt with, as well as information on juvenile offenders and women.

DPW4

The Resources section will provide even further information, such as a bibliography, news resources, international legal research guidelines, and links to death penalty organizations to name a few.

There are other resources also available on the site, such as an FAQ and even a Blog that you can subscribe to.  If you would like more information about this database, please contact:

Death Penalty Worldwide                                                               
info@deathpenaltyworldwide.org

Sandra Babcock
Clinical Professor of Law
Director, International Human Rights Clinic
Cornell University Law School
slb348@cornell.edu

Delphine Lourtau
Research Director, Death Penalty Worldwide
dml348@cornell.edu

NOW ONLINE! Historical Texas Statutes 1879-1960

Historical Texas statutes from 1879 through 1960 are now online. The statutes can be accessed online through the Law Library’s website at http://www.law.ttu.edu/lawlibrary/InternetResources.php. Follow the steps as noted on the screenshot below.  The volumes can be read online or downloaded in PDF format. If you have any questions, please contact the Law Library.

historical texas statutes

Regulatory Insight Featured Spotlight: Advanced Search & Search by Number

This is the final post in a three-part series spotlighting Regulatory Insight database features.

Aside from the basic search bar available on the home page, there are two other ways to conduct a search: (1) Advanced Search form and (2) Search by Number form.

Reg 3Advanced Search

The Advanced Search form is particularly helpful when you know your research constraints beforehand. For example, if you know the content will be found within the Federal Register or you’re able to limit results with a date range. The Advanced Search form also permits searching within specific fields (shown below). Fields include:

  • Full Text
  • Agency
  • Popular Law Name, and
  • Subject.

Reg 3.1When using the Agency or Popular Law Name fields, the Find Terms link to the right of the search box contains helpful categories for each field (shown below).

Reg 3.2Search by Number

When there is a known citation for a Federal Register document, a Regulation, a Public Law, a Statute at Large citation, a federal statute or U.S. Code citation, an Agency Docket Number or a Regulatory Information Number, you use the Search by Number form.

For this demonstration, we’re searching the FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012, which has a public law number of P.L. 112-95.

Reg 3.3

The search result (shown below) yields of a compilation of Federal Register articles associated with the public law number.

Reg 3.4Access to ProQuest’s Regulatory Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Regulatory Insight Featured Spotlight: Filter Box

This is the second post in a three-part series spotlighting Regulatory Insight database features.

For this demonstration, we’re searching “FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012.” After entering the search term, Regulatory Insight returns a list of matching results, with the most relevant documents located at the top of the list.

Results can be sorted by relevance (default), publication date, or recency. Additionally, the “Filter by” box, located in the left-hand column (shown below), can also be used to tailor the results.

Reg Insight2

Filtering by date will narrow the existing search results within the designated date range. Meanwhile, filtering is also available by document type or subject. Selecting “More options…” on either filter option results in a pop-up window (shown below).

Reg Insight3

There, the user can sort alphabetically or by result count each document type before selecting the document type to include or exclude in a filtered search. Clicking “Apply” will automatically generate a new search based on the filter selections (see below). To undo a filter, select the blue “X” icon located in the filter box.

Reg Insight4

Access to ProQuest’s Regulatory Insight database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.