HeinOnline’s Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: What is it?

This is the first in a four part series blog post spotlighting HeinOnline’s database Gun Regulation and Legislation in America.

HeinOnline has provided this database as a platform for research and to promote civil discourse on the myriad issues related to gun regulation. Their goal is to help facilitate productive discussions and help to bring all sides of this argument together to effect positive change and prevent more senseless loss of life, in the wake of several of the most deadly mass shootings in United States history.

Below is a view of the home page.

HeinOnline Gun BP1

This database provides various sources relating to Gun Regulation and Legislation including: periodicals, legislative history, CRS reports, congressional hearing reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, and external links for further research.

Below, the green boxes indicate where these sources can be located from the home page.

HeinOnline Gun BP2

Access to HeinOnline’s Gun Regulation and Legislation in America database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

February 2019 New Resources

2019 Feb new books

In February 2019, the Law Library added the following new resources to the collection to support the research and curricular needs of our faculty and students.

New Resources

GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions – A new database available from HeinOnline.  Contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included (documents that are restricted or classified are not). GAO Comptroller General Decisions contain decisions and opinions issued by the Comptroller General in areas of federal law such as appropriations, bid protests, and federal agency rulemaking.

New Books

COMPARATIVE AND FOREIGN LAW

  1. Gary Slapper and David Kelly, The English Legal System (2014).
  2. P.S.R.F. Mathijsen, A Guide to European Union Law: As Amended by the Treaty of Lisbon (2010).
  3. Lorna Woods and Philippa Watson, Steiner & Woods EU Law (2012).

CYBER LAW

  1. Catherine D. Marcum, Cyber Crime (2019).

DOMESTIC RELATIONS

  1. Brett R. Turner, Equitable Distribution of Property (2019).
  2. Diane L. Redleaf, They Took the Kids Last Night: How the Child Protection System Puts Families at Risk (2018).

EMPLOYMENT PRACTICE

  1. Meera E. Deo, Unequal Profession: Race and Gender in Legal Academia (2019).
  2. Wendi S. Lazar, executive ed. ; Terese M. Connolly and Gregory S. Chiarello eds., Zero Tolerance: Best Practices for Combating Sex-Based Harassment in the Legal Profession (2018).

ENVIRONMENTAL LAW

  1. Mark A. Ryan, ed., The Clean Water Act Handbook (2018).
  2. Harry Verhoeven, ed., Environmental Politics in the Middle East: Local Struggles, Global Connections (2018).
  3. Shelley Ross Saxer and Jonathan Rosenbloom, Social-Ecological Resilience and Sustainability (2018).

IMMIGRATION LAW

  1. ILRC Staff Attorneys, Essentials of Asylum Law (2018).

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW

  1. Irene Calboli and Martin Senftleben, eds., The Protection of Non-Traditional Trademarks: Critical Perspectives (2018).

LEGAL ANALYSIS AND WRITING

  1. Jill Barton and Rachel H. Smith, The Handbook for the New Legal Writer (2019).

LEGAL EDUCATION

  1. Helen Sword, Air & Light & Time & Space: How Successful Academics Write (2017).
  2. Gary R. Morrison, Designing Effective Instruction (2013).
  3. Christine Harrington and Todd Zakrajsek, Dynamic Lecturing: Research-Based Strategies to Enhance Lecture Effectiveness (2017).
  4. Robert F. Mager, Preparing Instructional Objectives: A Critical Tool in the Development of Effective Instruction (2012).

LEGAL PROFESSION

  1. Faith Pincus, Being Heard: Presentation Skills for Attorneys (2018).
  2. Jeremy W. Richter, Building a Better Law Practice: Become a Better Lawyer in Five Minutes a Day (2018).
  3. Dennis Kennedy and Tom Mighell, The Lawyer’s Guide to Collaboration Tools and Technologies: Smart Ways to Work Together (2018).
  4. Ida O. Abbott, The Lawyer’s Guide to Mentoring (2018).
  5. Andy Clark, Lawyer Wellness is Not an Oxymoron: Why Tomorrow’s Top Lawyers Must Embrace Wellness Today and What You Need to do to be One of Them (2013).
  6. Larry Port and Dave Maxfield, The Lean Law Firm: Run Your Firm Like the World’s Most Efficient and Profitable Businesses (2018).
  7. Lee Holcomb, Lifestyle Lawyer: The Female Attorney’s Guide to Designing a Law Career You Love (2018).

PROFESSIONAL ETHICS

  1. Katerina P. Lewinbuk, Connecting Ethics and Practice: A Lawyer’s Guide to Professional Responsibility (2019).

SMALL BUSINESS LAW

  1. Jean L. Batman, Advising the Small Business: Forms and Advice for the Legal Practitioner (2018).

TRIAL PRACTICE

  1. David Berg, The Trial Lawyer: What it Takes to Win (2018).

All resources are available from the Law Library.  If you would like to check out any of these titles, please contact the circulation desk at either 806-742-3957 or circulation.law@ttu.edu.

All electronic databases are available through the Library’s webpage, http://www.depts.ttu.edu/law/lawlibrary/index.php.

Library staff will be able to assist in locating and checking out any of these items or helping you contact the Librarian on call for questions about electronic resources.

December 2018 New Resources

2018 dec new book

In December 2018, the Law Library added the following new resources to the collection to support the research and curricular needs of our faculty and students.

New Resources

Foreign  International Law Resources Database (Part VII:  International Human Rights Law Institute) – Contained within HeinOnline, the International Human Rights Law Institute is the newest section of this vast database focusing on foreign and international legal material.  Part VII contains publications from the International Human Rights Law Institute. Topics within this section include information on sex trafficking, Middle East legal issues, and international extradition among others.

New Books

CRIMINAL LAW AND PROCEDURE

  1. Joseph F. Hoelscher, Texas Drunk Driving Law (2017).

HEALTH AND MENTAL WELLBEING

  1. Christopher M. Norris, The Complete Guide to Stretching (2015).

LEGISLATION

  1. Shambie Singer, Statutes and Statutory Construction (2018).

TRIAL PRACTICE

  1. Judge Robert R. Barton, Fundamentals of Texas Trial Practice: Civil and Criminal (2018).

All these resources are available from the Law Library.  If you would like to check out any of these titles, please contact the circulation desk at either 806-742-3957 or stop by the Circulation Desk.

All electronic databases are available through the Library’s webpage, http://www.depts.ttu.edu/law/lawlibrary/index.php

Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report: Exploring a Practitioner’s Insight

This is the last in a four part series blog post spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report.

On the right side of the home page, you can click on insight to get a practitioner’s insight on a particular issue in energy and climate law .

Below is a view of the practitioner’s insights page.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy10

Clicking on an insight, you will have similar features to clicking on an article in the news tab.

Below is a view of an article. The green boxes indicate the different features available in a practitioner’s insight.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy11

The box at the top shows where you can see the next insight. You can also view related articles to a particular insight. Finally, you can click on the blue terms within an insight and this will redirect you to further information related to the insight.

Access to the Climate and Energy Report’s database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report: Insights

This is the third in a four part series blog post spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report.

At the top of the page and on the right hand side, you will find “insights”, which allows you to take a look at practitioners’ practical knowledge and proposals on a subject.

Below is a view of the home page. The green box indicates where Insights may be located.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy9

Clicking on Insights will allow you to explore practitioners’ takes on hot topics concerning energy and climate.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy10

 

Access to the Energy and Climate Report’s database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report: Exploring an Article

This is the second in a four part series blog post spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report.

Today, we will explore an article from the homepage of the Energy and Climate Report.

Scrolling down the home page, the most recent news articles are shown, an article shown below, allows a reader to utilize many different features.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy6

At the top of the article, you can direct between the article immediately preceding the article being viewed or the one just after.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy7

You can also view related documents or articles to the one currently being viewed.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy8

Access to the Energy and Climate Report’s database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report: What is it?

This is the first in a four part series blog post spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Energy and Climate Report.

The Energy and Climate Report is dedicated to providing real-time coverage of climate change and emissions trading developments, in-depth analysis, interviews with policy makers, background reports, and legislation, litigation coverage and court opinions, and videos.

The Energy and Climate Report home page provides a comprehensive update beginning with the latest news.

Below is a view of the home page.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy1

 

To stay updated on a specific topic of interest, check out the news on the homepage that can be filtered by topic.

Below is the view of topics that you can filter the most recent news through.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy2

For quick searches of the entire database, locate the search icon at the top right corner of the page. For advanced searches, select the search icon and then select “advanced search” to the right of the search box. The advanced search tool allows you to search by term, topic, tribunal and date.

Bloomberg Environment and Energy3

Bloomberg Environment and Energy4

Bloomberg Environment and Energy5

Access to the Energy and Climate Report’s database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.