January 2020 New Resources

In January 2020, the Law Library added the following new resources to the collection to support the research and curricular needs of our faculty and students.

New Resources

reSearch TX

re:Search TX – A new database which allows users to search all 254 Texas counties for efiled cases and documents. Provides immediate access to every efiled case and document filed anywhere in Texas since 2016. Users can track cases and get case alerts.

 

New Books

2020 Jan new books

ADMIRALTY

  1. Irus Braverman and Elizabeth R. Johnson, eds., Blue Legalities: The Life and Laws of the Sea (2020).

COMMERCIAL LAW

  1. Brian M. Malsberger, Trade Secrets: A State-by-State Survey (2019).

CONSTITUTIONAL LAW, GENERALLY

  1. Paul W. Kahn, Origins of Order: Project and System in the American Legal Imagination (2019).

EVIDENCE

  1. Texas Family Law Foundation, Predicates Manual 4.0 (2019).

HEALTH LAW AND POLICY

  1. Alicia Ely Yamin, When Misfortune Becomes Injustice: Evolving Human Rights Struggles for Health and Social Equality (2020).

LEGAL EDUCATION

  1. Harriet L. Schwartz, Connected Teaching: Relationship, Power, and Mattering in Higher Education (2019).

LEGAL PHILOSOPHY

  1. Richard K. Sherwin, Visualizing Law in the Age of the Digital Baroque: Arabesques and Entanglements (2011).
  2. Anne Wagner and Richard K. Sherman, eds., Law, Culture and Visual Studies (2014).

LEGAL PROFESSION

  1. Will Baggett and Tai M. Brown, The Blueprint for a Successful Career: A Foundation for Developing Young Professionals (2017).

PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

  1. Jeffrey T. Frederick, Mastering Voir Dire and Jury Selection: Gain an Edge in Questioning and Selecting Your Jury (2018).

All resources are available from the Law Library.  If you would like to check out any of these titles, please contact the circulation desk at either 806-742-3957 or circulation.law@ttu.edu.

All electronic databases are available through the Library’s webpage, http://www.depts.ttu.edu/law/lawlibrary/index.php.

Library staff will be able to assist in locating and checking out any of these items or helping you contact the Librarian on call for questions about electronic resources.

October 2019 New Resources

2019 October new books

In October 2019, the Law Library added the following new resources to the collection to support the research and curricular needs of our faculty and students.

New Resources

State Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) – A new HeinOnline collection containing a vast collection of state constitutions and related documents for all 50 states.  Includes many versions of each state’s constitution, including a wide-variety of pre-statehood primary material. In total, there are nearly 9,000 current and historical constitutions for all 50 states.

New Books

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW

  1. Lisa Miller, The Art of Advocacy in Administrative Law and Practice (2019).

CRIMINAL LAW AND PROCEDURE

  1. Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, 27th Annual Prairie Dog Lawyers Advanced Criminal Law Seminar (2007).
  2. Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, 20th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course (2007).

INSURANCE LAW

  1. Tom Baker, Restatement of the law, liability insurance, as adopted and promulgated by the American Law Institute at Washington D.C., May 22, 2018 (2019).

LEGAL PROFESSION

  1. Andrew J. McClurg and Nancy Levit, Law Jobs: The Complete Guide (2019).

LEGAL RESEARCH AND LIBRARIES

  1. Eric P. Voigt, Legal Research Demystified: A Step-by-Step Approach (2019).
  2. Ron Sturgeon, Green Weenies and Due Diligence: Insider Business Jargon–Raw, Serious and Sometimes Funny; Business and Deal Terms from an Entrepreneur’s Diary that you won’t get from School or a Dictionary (2005).

PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

  1. Cecil C. Kuhne III, A Litigator’s Guide to Building Your Best Argument (2019).

PSYCHOLOGY AND PSYCHIATRY

  1. Emma Jones, Emotions in the Law School: Transforming Legal Education through the Passions (2020).

All resources are available from the Law Library.  If you would like to check out any of these titles, please contact the circulation desk at either 806-742-3957 or circulation.law@ttu.edu.

All electronic databases are available through the Library’s webpage, http://www.depts.ttu.edu/law/lawlibrary/index.php.

Library staff will be able to assist in locating and checking out any of these items or helping you contact the Librarian on call for questions about electronic resources.

Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Report: Perform an Advanced Search

This is the fourth in a four part series spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Report.

Today, we will highlight the website’s advanced search function. It is a very helpful tool and is fairly simple to use. it is Accessible from the Corporate Law Home Page

First, you will select the magnifying glass at the top right of the page then the Advanced search option in green below.

clr6

That would lead you to the filter options. Here you can narrow your search by keyword, topic, agency, tribunal, type, and date.

clr7

 

 

Each of the filter options also has a drop down list you can choose from highlighted in green below.

clr8

This search should produce a more refined and tailored list of articles for your needs.

 

Access to the Corporate Law Report database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

 

Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Report: Exploring an Article

This is the third in a four part series spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Report.

Today, we will explore an article from the homepage of the Corporate Law Report.

Scrolling down the home page, the most recent news articles are shown, an article shown below, allows a reader to utilize many different features.

clr2

By using the links at the top of the page readers can quickly switch between different articles on the site.

clr3

 

The article also has links to a couple of related articles on the site as well.

clr4

 

Access to the Corporate Law Report database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.

Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Report: Insights

This is the second in a four part series spotlighting Bloomberg BNA’s Corporate Law Report.

On the the home page, you can click on the Insights tab. You can explore various practitioner’s insights on hot topics within corporate law.

Below is a view of the home page. The green box indicates where the insights tab can be located.

cln7

After clicking on the Insights tab, the website will direct you to a page with all of the posted insights. You can then filter those posts by topics including corporate counsel, legislation, and more. The topic filter is highlighted in green.

clr1

 

Below is a view of the topic list.

cln8

 

Access to the Corporate Law Report database is available through the Texas Tech Law Library website under the Electronic Databases tab.