Databases – The Reporter

Summer 2023 New Resources

During Summer 2023, the Law Library added the following new resources to the collection to support the research and curricular needs of our faculty and students.

New Resources

Bloomberg BNA Law Reports (Archive) – Bloomberg BNA’s Law Reports archives pre-1996 BNA materials. Archives are arranged by the different practicing subject matters.

HeinOnline’s Voting Rights & Election Law – This collection is devoted to the electoral process: how elections are conducted, the strategy and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and who is allowed to vote. It contains content on historical and more recent elections, as well as elections conducted both in the United States and from around the world.

HeinOnline’s U.S. Congressional Serial Set — The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered the most essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, the American State Papers, and much more. The Serial Set is indexed and contains full-text coverage from inception to date.

New Books

EVIDENCE

1. Anthony J Bocchino, JoAnne A. Epps, and David A. Sonenshein, 101 Vignettes for Improving Trial Evidence Skills (2023).

LEGAL EDUCATION

2. Aliza Wong, Sean Cunningham, Terry Greenberg, and B. Lynn Whitfield, eds., 100 Years, 100 Voices: Texas Tech University (2022).

LEGAL PROFESSION

3. David R. McClean, Strategic Planning: As Simple as A, B, C (2015).

LEGAL RESEARCH AND LIBRARIES

4. Elizabeth G. Adelman and Jessica de Perio Wittman, eds., Organizational Structures of Academic Law Libraries: Past, Present, and Future (2023).

5. Jean M. Converse and Stanley Presser, Survey Questions: Handcrafting the Standardized Questionnaire (1986).

PRESIDENT/EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

6. Peter M. Shane, Democracy’s Chief Executive: Interpreting the Constitution and Defining the Future of the Presidency (2022).

PROFESSIONAL ETHICS

7. Peter J. Henning, The Prosecution and Defense of Public Corruption: The Law and Legal Strategies (2015).

All resources are available from the Law Library. If you would like to check out any of these titles, please contact the circulation desk at either 806-742-3957 or circulation.law@ttu.edu.

All electronic databases are available through the Library’s webpage, http://www.depts.ttu.edu/law/lawlibrary/index.php. Library staff will be able to assist in locating and checking out any of these items or helping you contact the Librarian on call for questions about electronic resources.

FBI Records: The Vault: Record Requests

This is the last in a four part series featuring the FBI records Vault. Each part highlights a different feature of the site.

FBI records can be requested through both the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) and the Privacy Act. to request a record you can submit your request a couple of different ways explained on the FBI website. Once You have made a request you may check on it through The Vault site.

FBI21

FBI22

Status information is updated weekly. You need your FOI/PA request number to use this feature.

FBI4

There are some exemptions to the FOIA/PA which are explained on the site.

FBI9

The Vault can be reached through the FBI website under the Services Tab.

FBI Records: The Vault: Exploring a Report

This is the third part in a four part series featuring the FBI records Vault. Each part will highlight a different feature of the site.

When you click on a file, it loads in a reader that enables you to view one or two pages at a time, search for key words, shrink or enlarge the size of the text, use different scroll features, and more. In many cases, the quality and clarity of the individual files has also been improved.

The files can be accessed by a couple of different ways from the home page.

You can select a category, search for something specific, or look through their index.

FBI20

Once you select a topic the available files will be displayed.

FBI6

You can look through the file in the browser or open and download the pdf version.

FBI7

FBI17

The Vault can be reached through the FBI Website under the Services Tab.

August 2021 New Resources

In August 2021, the Law Library added the following new resources to the collection to support the research and curricular needs of our faculty and students.

New Resources

HeinOnline’s Open Society Justice Initiative

HeinOnline has provided a new database, Open Society Justice Initiative. The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society’s broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.

New Books

ADMIRALTY

Felicity G. Attard, The Duty of the Shipmaster to Render Assistance at Sea Under International Law (2020).

ARTIFICAL INTELLIGENCE LAW AND LEGISLATION

Woodrow Barfield, ed., The Cambridge Handbook of the Law of Algorithms (2021).

BUSINESS ORGANIZATIONS

Grant M. Hayden and Matthew T. Bodie, Reconstructing the Corporation: From Shareholder Primacy to Shared Governance (2020).

CONTRACTS

Edward Yorio and Steve Thel, Contract Enforcement: Specific Performance and Injunctions (2011).

CRIMINAL LAW AND PROCEDURE

Glen Sample Ely, Murder in Montague: Frontier Justice and Retribution in Texas (2020).

DOMESTIC RELATIONS

Mark A. Chinn, Forms, Checklists, and Procedures for the Family Lawyer (2021).

HEALTH LAW AND POLICY

W. Andrew H. Gantt III, ed., Healthcare Cybersecurity (2021).

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW

Michelle M. Wu, Rebalancing Copyright: Considering Technology’s Impact on Libraries and the Public Interest (2021).

Theodore H. Davis, Jr., Jay Erstling, and Megan Miller, What is a Trademark (2021).

JUDGES

Mary Theresa Vasquez and Anthony Head, From the Texas Cotton Fields to the United States Tax Court: The Life Journey of Juan F. Vasquez (2021).

LEGAL EDUCATION

Melissa A. Wong, Instructional Design for LIS Professionals: A Guide for Teaching Librarians and Information Science Professionals (2019).

LEGAL RESEARCH AND LIBRARIES

Rebecca Tolley, A Trauma-Informed Approach to Library Services (2020).

MEDICAL JURISPRUDENCE

Barak Cohen, ed., with Michael C. Bleicher, Cannabis Law: A Primer on Federal and State Law Regarding Marijuana, Hemp, and CBD (2021).

PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

Alan S. Gutterman, Business and Human Rights: Advising Clients on Respecting and Fulfilling Human Rights (2020).

Theda C. Snyder, Women Rainmakers’ Best Marketing Tips (2021).

Jennifer K. Robbennolt and Jean R. Sternlight, Psychology for Lawyers: Understanding the Human Factors in Negotiation, Litigation, and Decision Making (2021).

Nancy Harris Vaidik and Rebecca Diaz-Bonilla, Point Well Made: Persuasive Oral Advocacy (2021).

James H. Fierberg, A Civility-Based Model for New Lawyers: Understanding Your Moral Compass, Interpersonal Skills, and Ethical Inventory Before Practicing Law (2021).

SEXUAL ORIENTATION

Kevin Leo Yabut Nadal, Queering Law and Order: LGBTQ Communities and the Criminal Justice System (2020).

All resources are available from the Law Library. If you would like to check out any of these titles, please contact the circulation desk at either 806-742-3957 or circulation.law@ttu.edu.

All electronic databases are available through the Library’s webpage, http://www.depts.ttu.edu/law/lawlibrary/index.php.

Library staff will be able to assist in locating and checking out any of these items or helping you contact the Librarian on call for questions about electronic resources.

FBI Records: The Vault : Search Functions

This is the second in a four part series featuring the FBI’s Records Vault. Each part will Highlight a different feature of the site.

The Vault contains a couple of different easy to use search functions including search by topic and a keyword search.

You can browse or search for specific topics or persons by using the alphabetical listing, the search tool in the upper right of the site, or by checking the different category lists that can be found in the menu on the right side of the Home page.

FBI18

In the search results, click on the folder to see all of the files for that particular topic.

FBI13

In some cases you can search for key words within a specific document by typing in terms in the search box in the upper right hand of the file after it has been opened and loaded.

The Vault can be reached through the FBI website under the Services Tab.